AMSA Rules Quiz #5 Question Title * Your Name Question Title * Select the first position that applies to you. I am a... Umpire Coach Player Spectator Question Title * Level 1 Question (1 point)There is a runner on 1st, when the batter hits a foul which goes directly back to the catcher’s glove and is caught. Foul Tip, runner cannot advance, strike on batter, out if strike 3 Foul Ball, runner cannot advance, strike (cannot be strike 3) on batter Foul Tip, runner may advance, strike on batter, out if strike 3 Foul Tip, runner may advance, strike (cannot be strike 3) on batter Question Title * Level 2 Question (2 points)There is a runner at 1st with one out and the batter has a count of two balls and two strikes. The next pitched ball is swung at by the batter and the ball lands in the dirt behind the plate. The catcher traps the pitched ball and, thinking there are three outs, heads for the bench with his team following close behind. The catcher tosses the ball to the third or first base coach who is standing in the coach’s box. The coach (a) catches the ball or (b) lets the ball hit him in the arm and watches it fall to the ground. R1 and the batter advance around the bases uncontested and score what is apparently two runs. What is your ruling ? Scenario (a) Scenario (b) Ruling Batter is out on Dropped 3rd Strike rule, ball is dead, runner awarded second base Foul ball, runner returns to first base, batter returns to plate Batter is out on Dropped 3rd Strike rule, ball is live, runner's run counts Live ball, both runs count Ruling Scenario (a) menu Batter is out on Dropped 3rd Strike rule, ball is dead, runner awarded second base Foul ball, runner returns to first base, batter returns to plate Batter is out on Dropped 3rd Strike rule, ball is live, runner's run counts Live ball, both runs count Ruling Scenario (b) menu Question Title * Level 3 Question (3 points)There are runners at 1st and 3rd. On the next pitched ball, caught by the catcher, the batter interferes with the catcher’s ability to throw out R1 who is stealing 2nd. The play is not completed at 2nd because the shortstop cuts off the catcher’s thrown ball. The shortstop then throws the ball home, in an effort to retire R3, who is stealing home. The batter does not interfere with the play at home. Select the proper call for each of the Ball, Batter and Runners (3 answers each worth one point) Ball Batter Runners Answers Dead ball at time of interference Live ball until end of play Answers Ball menu Batter is out Batter is not out Answers Batter menu R1 returns to 1st base, R3 returns to 3rd base Runners remain where they were at end of play (run scores) R1 is called out, R3 run scores Answers Runners menu Done