Thank you for submitting a 2024 AIEA Award nomination. Please see below for a brief description of each of the award categories. For further details on each award and their criteria, please review the full award category descriptions at

AIEA Award Categories:

Award for Presidential Leadership in Comprehensive Internationalization
This award acknowledges recipients who have exemplified leadership in multiple facets of comprehensive internationalization. Additionally, the award places great emphasis on the demonstration of global mindedness at both the institutional and professional levels, emphasizing the critical role of university leaders as individuals in fostering a globally engaged higher education environment. The recipient must be the president of a higher education institution at the time of the next AIEA Annual Conference. Nominee’s institution must have at least one AIEA member at time of nomination. Nominee must be a member of AIEA at the time the award is given, and must attend the AIEA Annual Conference

The Charles Klasek Award for Distinguished Service to the Field of International Education
"Chuck" Klasek, an excellent example of an effective international education administrator, was a founding member of AIEA who served as its third president. The single criterion for this award is that the recipient should have given long-term and outstanding service to the field of International Education. 

The Harold Josephson Student Professional Award recognizes a graduate student who has distinguished themself as an emerging leader in an international education related profession. Eligible graduate student nominees must be professionals working in an international education related office or organization. 

The Harold Josephson Student Award recognizes a graduate student who has demonstrated exceptional promise in the international education field through research, campus activities, or other relevant contributions. 

The Timothy J. Rutenber Award for Distinguished Service to AIEA
This award was established to honor AIEA members who have rendered long-term and outstanding service to the Association. Nominations to the Timothy J. Rutenber Award must be made by current or past AIEA Board Members.

The Innovative Excellence in Internationalization Award 
The Innovative Excellence in Internationalization Award is an updated iteration of AIEA’s Innovation Award in Internationalization launched in 2015, and is informed by the current complexities and opportunities in internationalization.
The goals of this updated award are intentionally aligned with inspirational and creative leadership in advancing comprehensive internationalization and with the principles of Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (JEDI), and the Sustainable Development Goals. 

Question Title

* 1. Name of Nominator

Question Title

* 2. Nominator's Email Address

Question Title

* 3. Nominee Award Category