Thank you for submitting a 2023 AIEA Award nomination. Please see below for a brief description of each of the four award categories and their criteria. For further details, please review the full award category descriptions at

AIEA Award Categories

The Charles Klasek Award for Distinguished Service to the Field of International Education
"Chuck" Klasek, an excellent example of an effective international education administrator, was a founding member of AIEA who served as its third president. The single criterion for this award is that the recipient should have given long-term and outstanding service to the field of International Education. Nominees do not need to be AIEA members. Nominators must be current AIEA members.

The Harold Josephson Student Professional Award recognizes a graduate student who has distinguished themself as an emerging leader in an international education related profession. Eligible graduate student nominees must be professionals working in an international education related office or organization. Nominees must be from an AIEA member institution.

The Harold Josephson Student Award recognizes a graduate student who has demonstrated exceptional promise in the international education field through research, campus activities, or other relevant contributions. Nominees must be from an AIEA member institution.

The Timothy J. Rutenber Award for Distinguished Service to AIEA
This award was established to honor AIEA members who have rendered long-term and outstanding service to the Association. Nominations to the Timothy J. Rutenber Award must be made by current or past AIEA Board Members.

The Innovation Award in Internationalization 
This award highlights exceptional programs, projects, or initiatives aimed at advancing internationalization and directed by SIOs on their respective campuses. The categories that can be used for these programs are based on the American Council on Education’s six elements of comprehensive internationalization (Articulated Institutional Commitment; Administrative Structure and Staffing; Curriculum; Faculty Policies and Practices; Student Mobility; Collaboration and Partnerships).

Submissions for this award must meet the following criteria:
  • The project must be widely and easily replicable at other institutions.
  • The project must be viable with an infusion of less than $10,000.
  • The project must address at least one of the six elements of comprehensive internationalization.
  • The project must be able to demonstrate assessment results that confirms its effectiveness.
  • The project must be supported or led by a Senior International Officer.
Projects that are unique innovations within the overall field of international education will be favored over those that have precedents in other institutions, although overlapping goals and structures will be common. Institutions nominated must be current AIEA member institutions.

All award nominations must be received by October 15, 2022, at 11:59 p.m. EST.

Question Title

* 1. Name of Nominator

Question Title

* 2. Nominator's Email Address

Question Title

* 3. Nominee Award Category