2018-19 Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards


Qualifying period: September 1, 2018 to August 31, 2019

Eligible Coaches: Coaches of Canadian athlete(s) or team(s) in a recognized National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP) sport who win gold, silver, or bronze medals in an eligible competition.

To be considered eligible, a coach should:
  • Be NCCP Competition – Development certified (NCCP Competition – Introduction certified for Special Olympics);
  • Be a Canadian citizen, a Canadian resident, or a landed immigrant in possession of a Canadian work permit who contributes to the Canadian sport system; and
  • Have worked on a regular basis with the medal-winning athlete or team as either head, assistant, or personal coach.
N.B. 1: The award nomination MUST be supported by the athlete or team. In some circumstances the CAC may request to contact athletes directly to clarify the role and contribution of personal and team coaches.

N.B. 2: Normally ONE coach is recognized  for each medal-winning performance. If an athlete is coached equally by two coaches, the CAC Awards Committee will consider the circumstances to determine if an award should rightly be given to two coaches. In team sports, one head coach and up to two assistant coaches may equally share the award.

N.B. 3: In the event that a coach does not meet the minimum NCCP training criteria as listed above, the NSO may request that the CAC Awards Committee review and consider other coach education equivalencies. Supporting documentation for equivalencies should be submitted at the time of nomination.

Eligible Competitions: Open World Championships, the Olympic Games, the Special Olympics World Games, or the Paralympic Games.
  • A minimum of 8 countries must have competed in the preliminary round of competition at Open World Championships, at Olympic Games, or at Paralympic Games;
  • A minimum of 6 countries must have competed in the preliminary round of competition at Special Olympics World Games.
  • Age group World Championships, (e.g. Junior World Championships or Under 23), as well as World Cups ARE NOT qualifying competitions.
Documented evidence verifying the medal-winning performance (official results of the championship) and the number of entries must accompany the nomination.
Page1 / 6
17% of survey complete.